Canada’s Walk of Fame grows longer

The latest group of inductees to the Canada’s Walk of Fame was announced yesterday by host and Corner Gas star Brent Butt.

The new additions are NBA star Steve Nash, comedy troupe The Kids in the Hall, singer k.d. lang, supermodel Daria Werbowy, actress Frances Bay and filmmaker James Cameron. Also in attendance will be recording artist Bryan Adams and actor and activist Michael J. Fox. The latter two were inducted in 1998 and 2000 respectively but were unable to attend the ceremonies. In fact, Fox did not even learn of the honour until after the gala because organizers were unable to get through the layers of his management to invite him to the event.

In addition to the seven inductees listed above, silver screen star Norma Shearer motion-picture sound innovator Douglas Shearer will receive posthumous plaques on the walk. The late brother and sister Academy Award winners from Montreal are being honoured with the inaugural Canadian Legends Awards, which is given to those who have made significant contributions to film, music, sport, arts, and innovation.

To qualify for induction to Canada's Walk of Fame, candidates must have been born in Canada or spent their formative or creative years here. Additionally, they must have been successful for a minimum of 10 years and have a body of work recognized for its impact on our cultural heritage. Inductees are chosen by a selection committee from ballots and letters of recommendation submitted by peers and the public.

Butt said he was particularly excited to see Kids in the Hall being honoured, as he used to be the warm-up act when they taped their sketch comedy show for CBC-TV in the mid-'90s.

"It was a sweet gig, it was easy money," Butt said of the job. "Because everybody was so jazzed about seeing the Kids in the Hall. There were rabid Kids in the Hall fans and one of the Kids would come out and introduce you as being a friend of theirs, so everybody liked you – they wanted you to like them.”

The new inductees will be celebrated at a gala September 6 at Toronto’s Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Related Topics
Share This
More Stories