Tanya Tagaq returns with new album, 'Retribution'

Innovative Inuk throat singer Tanya Tagaq is back with a new album titled Retribution, to be released Oct. 21 on Six Shooter Records.

Tagaq’s last album, 2014’s Animism, won the 2014 Polaris Music Prize and the 2015 Juno Award for Aboriginal Album of the Year.

According to the album’s announcement, Retribution‘s themes are “more musically aggressive, more aggressively political, more challenging, more spine tingling, more powerful” than her last album, dealing with “rape of women, rape of the land, rape of children, despoiling of traditional lands without consent.”

Collaborators include long-time producer Jesse Zubot, Shad, and throat singers Radik Tyülyüsh and Ruben Komangapik.

Here is Retribution‘s tracklist:

1. “Ajaaja”
2. “Retribution”
3. “Nacreous”
4. “Aorta”
5. “Centre” (featuring Shad)
6. “Summoning”
7. “Cold”
8. “Sivulivinivut”
9. “Sulfur”
10. “Rape Me” (Nirvana cover)

The Best of Popjournalism
Law & disorder: Inside CBC TV's This is Wonderland
Law & PoliticsMay 30, 2005
Leigh Nash flies solo
MusicAug 14, 2006
Mike Holmes makes it right
CelebritiesSep 18, 2006
The freebie trade
Media & AdvertisingNov 16, 1999
Kim D'Eon goes glam with 'ET Canada'
CelebritiesMar 28, 2006
22 minutes with Mary Walsh
Books & PublishingNov 25, 2004
Caged Wild Strawberries?
MusicNov 8, 2000
Til Schweiger takes flight in 'The Red Baron'
CelebritiesMar 11, 2010