Detroit Red Wings win the Stanley Cup

The Detroit Red Wings won their 11th Stanley Cup in National Hockey League (NHL) history on Wednesday. The Red Wings won the sixth game of the championship finals by a 3-2 score against the Pittsburgh Penguins at Mellon Arena in Pittsburgh. The Conn Smythe Trophy, an individual player award, was presented to Henrik Zetterberg.

Detroit’s Brian Rafalski scored the only goal in the first period. The Red Wings increased their lead with another goal in the second period by Valtteri Filppula. Pittsburgh’s Evgeni Malkin scored Pittsburgh’s first goal of the game, also in the second period.

In the third period, Henrik Zetterberg earned Detroit’s third goal of the game. In the final two minutes, Pittsburgh’s Sergei Gonchar reduced Detroit’s lead to 3-2, but the Penguins couldn’t force a tie at the end.

Pittsburgh last won the Stanley Cup in 1992 and was seeking its third Cup in the playoffs.

The Stanley Cup is the most prominent contest in North American ice hockey.

This article is licenced for use under the Creative Commons Deed Attribution 2.5

The Best of Popjournalism